Texas Protective Orders
Seek Representation from Our Houston Family Attorneys
In cases related to domestic violence, those who are constantly abused
are in perpetual state of danger. Not only are they susceptible to recurring
harassment, but also violence. According to Texas Department of Public
Safety statistics, 74% of all Texans indicate they have experienced some
form of domestic violence during their life. 49% reported that they have
either personally been significantly abused or report that a family member
has been severely abused through domestic violence.
If you or a loved one has been continually abused due to domestic violence,
they could be eligible for a protective order. At the
Law Office of Kathryn Marteeny, we are dedicated to protecting the rights and safety of our clients and
their families. When you’re involved in a frightening situation
as domestic violence, it’s important to contact our Houston
family law attorney.
What is a Protective Order?
A protective order is a legal document signed by a judge that prevents
the abuser from continuing acts of violence, harassing, stalking or threatening.
Texas protective orders laws allow for both temporary (20 days maximum)
and general (up to two years) protective orders.
A protective order may include various provisions, such as the following:
No Contact Provision – prohibits the abusers from attempting to make contact with the
abused party (calling, texting, and emailing)
Move Out Provision – requires the abuser to move out of a home shared with the abused party
- Stay Away Provision – orders the abuser to remain a certain distance
away from the abused party, his/her home, school, work, and car
Firearms Provision – requires the abuser to surrender any guns he/she possesses and
prevents he/she from purchasing a firearm
Peaceful contact provision – allows the abuser to communicate with the victim peacefully for
limited reasons, such as care and transfer for visitation of a child
Counseling provision – orders abuser to attend counseling, such as anger management
Violation of a protective order results in a maximum of one year in jail
and a maximum $4000 fine. If family violence occurs, the abuser can be
prosecuted for a misdemeanor or felony, which results in a minimum two-year
jail sentence. Although the abuser can potentially disobey the protective
order anyway, the power it grants the abused party is the ability to contact
the police and enforce strict penalties if those orders are violated.
Take Immediate Action Today
With 30 years of legal experience, our firm can help you properly navigate the court system and provide
you with the necessary guidance to help you obtain an order of protection
for you and your family. Don’t let the abuser ruin your life and
your wellbeing. If you choose to have our Houston divorce attorneys represent
your case, we will aggressively fight for the justice you deserve.
Do not hesitate to
contact us today for your initial consultation!